Sour Milk Ghyll

The weather forecast was a little better today so we set our sights on another Wainwright,  namely Base Brown above Seathwaite.  It's one of those fells that we have walked past several times but being a Wainwright we had go back and do it (our 125th out of the total 214)

The weather started off OK but gradually deteriorated until we were in a whiteout at the top with horizontal rain and gale force wind.   They say theres no such thing as bad weather,  just the wrong clothing but as I had left my waterproof over trousers behind I definitely had the wrong clothing and my legs got extremely wet and cold.

The descent was interesting as the rocks were very slippery.  The path we were taking is one of my favourites and ascends beside Sour Milk Ghyll which was in full flood today so the waterfalls were spectacular.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.