A male bullfinch in the garden

This morning I went for a walk along the Montgomery Canal with the birdwatching group. There was a cold wind blowing but at least the weather stayed dry. We saw a flock of long-tailed tits, a heron and ducks. We could hear lots of cheeping but most of the birds were well hidden by leaves. We'll see them better when the branches are bare.

When I got home, the lawn was covered in woodpigeon feathers - a sparrowhawk must have made a kill. I'd have loved a good shot of the hawk.  It's amazing how many feathers are on a pigeon!

There were a pair of bullfinches under the feeders so I managed a shot of this handsome male through the kitchen window. I had better views of birds in my own garden than going out but of course it's always good to spend a morning amongst friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.