Men at Work

The day started by waking up to dawn over the Bosphorus and the Asian Side - about 6.45am.

It continued at 8am with breakfast looking out at that view in the morning light, watching ferries coming and going to take commuters to work, and ships emerging from the southern end of the Bosphorus into the Sea of Marmara. The point for picking up pilots off those ships is right in view of the guesthouse, so there’s a bit of a show.

After a huge (Turkish) breakfast I had time for a walk around to help the digestion. I was looking for a Blip as well. As I was taking some shots at the entrance to Topkapı my peripheral vision caught some workmen high up on Aya Sofya, so that’s my Blip. You’ll have to see the “full size” extra to appreciate their location.

Those of us who are in grip of the UK’s health & safety paranoia will manage a wry smile.

When I got back to the guesthouse Doǧan had arrived for work, bringing his dad with him. I knew Mrs Yıldırım died a few years ago but I’d heard nothing about Mr Y over the years. Knowing he’s a survivor of heart surgery and cancer (maybe twice with the cancer) and mid 80s now, it was wonderful to see him - looking healthy and very dapper. Brought back memories of a few Sunday evening barbecues - with rakı.

The city was looking wonderful in the early October sun. I couldn’t decide if I had a heavy heart or a spring in my step as I headed for the airport. Bit of both, I guess. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.