Comma

It was a beautiful day, and my husband and I decided to have a nice, hot lunch at Couch's and then go hiking around Lake Perez at Stone Valley. The sky was blue and the afternoon became plenty warm; more summer than fall.

As I was standing on the dock overlooking the lake, several little orange butterflies were flitting around me, and I snapped this photo of one of them. For the lovers of punctuation, here is a butterfly known by the peculiar name of the eastern comma, Polygonia comma.

When we arrived home on this day, the news was full of the death - and then the not-death - of rocker Tom Petty. Before I went to bed, I read that he was dead; and then - again - that he was not. The following morning, several credible news sources confirmed his passing.

Tom Petty was one of my favorite rockers. In fact, I may have used more of his songs as soundtracks to my blips than just about any other musician, other than Bruce Springsteen. For the record, my two favorite TP and the HB's albums are Damn the Torpedoes (1979), and Hard Promises (1981).

I am posting two blips tonight, both butterflies, symbols of the ephemerality and beauty of life. (Please be sure to check out my painted lady photo as well.) The songs I've selected to accompany them are Tom Petty songs I have not used before. Here is the first butterfly blip, accompanied by the tune You Got Lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.