Serendipity in the Mangroves

It's been a fascinating day, seeing tall pied stilts, white fronted ibis, intermediate egret, black kites, eastern curlew, flying grasshoppers - and lots of 'roos in the early light.
This egret was sitting on the top of a mangrove as I wandered past, and was still in the same place when I wandered back an hour or so later! As I watched he stretched his neck, looked right, left, right again - and took off. Serendipity at play.

We've seen cane toads this evening while we were watching the deep red sun dip into the horizon beyond the mouth of the Norman River. It reminded me of the bright green tree frogs at Adels Grove - I found one in the toilet! The toilet lids are supposed to be left down, so that the frogs can't get in there, and so that the snakes won't look for them in there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.