Aachua's 4-500 yr Old Oak....

I had a wonderful outing with one of my PT buddies and her husband..... they wanted to show me this magnificent old, oak!  It is sitting in a huge pasture, all by itself in it's glory, surrounded by cows, a fence and loads of Florida sunshine.
    2 years ago Mary and I went to see the Angel Oak in South Carolina.  It had been dated at about 500 years old.  It was a breathtaking sight....
      The tree I saw here in Florida, was just as big and beautiful.  All of the branches were logs, some 8-16" in diameter that bent to the ground, provide support, and the terminal ends reach back up to the sky for sun and rain.  From what I could see, the tree didn't have any branches cut off or supported due to disease.  Under the canopy, were beef cows, enjoying the cool shade and sleeping.  They looked about the size of a large dog, dwarfed by the size of the tree and it's canopy.
       In the extras are more shots of the tree.  One shows the trunk, split.... hundreds of years ago, probably by a lightening strike.  But as you can see it, survived, grew and thrive.....    2 pictures show the left side of branching, a little thinner,  another shows the right branching which is much thicker.    I did add one picture of the cows, under the canopy.
       What a beautiful, old and magnificent tree.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.