The Castle

Just back from an amazing few days at The Castle , Castletownshend where we were helping our pal C record it.  See extra - conclusions are that it's a mid/late 17C porch with  towers snazzified in the late 18/early 19C ( I think!) A mammoth task for there are some huge rooms and a warren of smaller ones. I was responsible for recording doors, panelling and staircases  - a terrifying responsibility. There were 100s of doors and all sorts of variations in style and door furniture, and I have learnt a lot - see other extra for a nice box lock. It was the most gorgeous day and I'm afraid TJ and I leapt out to do a bit of beachcombing as well - see our haul. The castle is literally right on the sea and there were some lovely abstract  castley ripples going. We stayed overnight and Himself and I had the luxury of fine sea views from the room right above the porch. One could get used to this!

Oh, and  Maudie was just wonderful - incredible performances from Ethan Hawke and Sally Hawkins. Recommended. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.