GRANDMA

My friend Jan picked me up at 8.30 am for our weekly visit to Morrisons.  Didn't even have time to unpack it at home before I was off again walking down to the village to catch the bus to the Blaydon Walk in Centre. I had an appointment for Breast Screening.  This appointment comes around every 3 years.  It was in a mobile unit in the car park.  There were a few ladies already waiting and a couple more arrived while I was there.  But I was seen quickly and the screening itself didn't take long.

Next I got the bus to The Metrocentre.  Did a bit of shopping in Wilkinsons ( new frying pan and some light bulbs ).

Got back home around 2pm --- and had my breakfast - finally.  Unpacked the shopping and put it away. Did some washing. 

I'm going round to my brother and sister in laws this evening and as I usually get home after midnight I'm quickly doing my blip before I go.

Going for Breast Screening got me thinking of my Grandma who died in 1979 of breast cancer.  So this blip is in memory of her - Jessie Bracey - 1900 to 1979. Born Jessie Brown in South Shields.  Orphaned at the age of 12 she and her younger sister were put into a childrens home.  Then she went into service.  She met my Grandad - Stanley -  and they had a happy marriage.  They were blessed with 7 children.  However the last baby only survived for a few months. She was a hard worker and used to stoke the boilers at her local church.  She often took me with her - which I loved. When I was growing up I was lucky that Grandad and Grandma lived next door.  So we were in and out of each others houses all the time.  One by one her children got married and left home.  Except her eldest  - Stanley -  who was shell shocked in the war and stayed with his Mam and Dad. In her later years Grandma suffered badly from arthritis and had difficulty walking but that didn't stop her putting on her best hat and walking - very slowly - to the " Mothers Meeting " at the Community Centre.  When she got sick with breast cancer it was such a shock to us all.  She kept her symptoms to herself until it was too late.  No breast screening in those days.  RIP Jessie Bracey.  Such a lovely lady. XXXXXX

Steps today - 10.024

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.