From Motorised Ironing Board to Proper Horse

A cheeky blip today as it's plainly obvious that I didn't take this picture of me on Milo (complete with my new air jacket gilet) but I hope you don't mind. I had a fab morning with him, I lunged him and then got on. It's the first time I have had a proper ride for a few weeks as he has been under the expert tuition of my instructor Polly who has been riding him to transform him from a motorised ironing board to a proper horse...mission accomplished.

Afterwards we decided to try practice loading him onto a horsebox ready for when I want to travel with him. He was born where I keep him so he has never travelled before and as I have time and patience, I want to start the process early and make it stress free. As of four months ago he was scared to even go near the lorry as it was parked on the yard...so I wasn't sure what to expect. Nobody was more surprised than me when he went straight up to the ramp, gave it a lot of sniffing. He wasn't sure what to do with his feet so we had to physically lift his front feet and put them on the ramp and once he got the idea, he just wandered up into the back of the lorry, no stress and lots of treats...perfect end to lesson one in how to travel your horse.

It's really lovely to have Eldest home for the weekend, without any dirty washing and with a dose of 'freshers flu', so I am expecting him to be spending most of the weekend asleep!

All in all...lots to be grateful for today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.