Tenderly tending her eggs

 Blipmate and I were AWOL from Wednesday till today with no wifi. Our trip to the breeding grounds of Egretta alberta modesta (Kotuku) was on Thursday from Whataroa by van, jetboat and walking. This was the last shot I looked at today and my best. The white feathers gave burnout on many shots. However I have a few extras to show the habitat and actions of the birds.
Such a thrill to see them courting, finding nest material and putting a nest together. No chicks as yet and many more birds yet to arrive.
But what a thrill to see them. Well worth every penny.
We also saw welcome swallow, spoonbills, shags, kereru, fantail and bellbird.
Do look at Lizellen's photos too. I bet she is having trouble deciding what to put up. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.