Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

The long journey home

It takes 7.5 hours non stop to drive from Jindabyne in Alpine NSW to Geelong in South West Victoria.
This is us in high spirits an hour into the journey, even though the coffee was already drunk. It was a beautiful day and route, though the twisting and turning down the far side of the mountain took its toll on Mr A. We stopped in a clearing of gentle sun in the middle of a forest. He caught his breath again, whilst I stood, leaning on the car, breathing in that gorgeous gum tree forest smell and listening to the myriad sounds around us. Not a car went past us in 10mins.
This was what we were missing in our air conditioned pollen filtered car.

We finally reached home by 6.30pm. I staggered (literally, my knee is all swollen) to get some take away dinner, before tackling my sermon. I got up at 5.30am to write some thoughts and notes before the drive, so I have been thinking about it whilst driving.
We also gobbled up kms whilst listening to a British BBC dramatization of 2 Earthsea books. Good stuff!

All in all, it was a good day. We arrived tired but still cheerful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.