Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

His Name is Bob!

The first time I saw him he was behind bars. January 1996 was wet and cold in southern California and he looked like he'd been out in the rain-wet streets for days, maybe weeks. I was there to visit the dog my daughter's family was preparing to adopt.

I'd known for a long time that experts claim folks who own a dog have lower blood pressure and less heart attacks. What I didn't know was that I was about to fall in love with an incarcerated male blonde Lhasa apso. I reached through the bars to pet the top of his head. He was gentle, placid, and definitely in need of a bath and a haircut.

I exited the kennel area and walked into the animal shelter office to inquire about adoption. He would have to stay a week in order for his owners to find and claim him. The long and short of this story--he became ours. Mr. Fun and I were out of town when his release happened. So our daughter claimed him for us and brought him home. At her house she already had her recently adopted Border Collier, Sadie, and Patches, her Jack Russell mix. With three dogs underfoot, my daughter looked at her 3-year-old son, Emerson, and said, "We've got to give this dog a name." He replied, "Let's call him Bob!"

We returned from our trip and I confessed to Mr. Fun that our family had increased. We arrived at our daughter's home to learn this jailbird had been given the moniker, "Bob." I said politely, "That name will never stick."

Today we celebrated 13 years of living with Bob dog. His presence here at Miterville has enhanced our lives and filled our home with fun, caring, and the special love that a (non-human) being can produce.

Currently Bob is almost completely deaf and his eye-sight has dimmed, but his love, loyalty, and longing to be with us has increased seven-fold. Today we celebrate Bob. This evening we grilled steak in his honor (he had a couple bites) and lit 13 candles on a delicious chocolate cake (he doesn't eat cake).

From our southern California birthday celebration to wherever you are in blip-land, we wish you cake with candles and a dog to hold and hug.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Bob dog)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.