Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Grandpa

Grandpa had a new toy. At nearly 88 it’s amazing how his feet nip around those pedals. We were treated to a rendition of Ode to Joy, before the usual round of railway stories.

On the way home from Wakefield I was gripped by a Proustian urge to have tinned pears and evaporated milk. Sadly Aldi yielded neither, which is probably for the best as I doubt it would taste the same as when my dear Nan served it up for ‘afters’ following egg and chips.

Update - after texting my tinned pear woes to my lovely friend Maxine I just discovered some, along with a tin of Carnation left on my doorstep. As soon as I opened the tins I was transported back in time by the smell of the evaporated milk - completely disgusting, completely delicious. My Nan would be proud of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.