twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

After an IT fault (probably due to the hardware being sopping wet from the monsoon on the way home the previous evening), it was out into a steady day in really pleasant weather. Perfect for racking up 71km in the line of duty. After a quick hunt around the 'hood, it was off into Gorgie and surrounding area; and then this (from my Facebook feed)
""I despair
Drivers. ...
So a Merc (obv) swings out a side street. Right across. As if to make matters worse it then tries to park leaving me nowhere to go but into the kerb.
Oblivious when I appear by his window, so he is.
Opens the door with phone in hand.
"You had me off my bike back there!"
"Sorry I never saw you. I was on my phone"
"Er maybe that's why there's a law against driving with a phone in your hand?"
"Ah but I was looking for an address...."
And that makes it OK how???"

I wound my way steadily eastwards all the way to the county line; snapping away in the decent weather; a sit and ponder on the seafront of Porty and then back into Leith (new Cigs x 2) and the new town. 

My final call was Elm Row; I was early. I waited. I waited some more. Eventually the office called; the eprson that booked it for me got the worng address; the person was waiting at the correct address back off Dalry Road. A speedy sprint up Leith Street and along Princes St and I was done. Home to make a phone call and straight back out again to meet her.

Pomegranate. I had a voucher which I got as a birthday present - and an enjoyable couple of hours watching the evening ebb into night with a glass or tow of wine. I walked her home, pecked her on the cheek and headed off into the night. Passing countless bars with expectant tartan clad gentlemen, chewing their fingernails.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.