All the women I've ever loved - 1

I never met the first woman I loved. She lived on the big screen and I worshipped her. This was before streaming or DVDs or even videos and I used to see her at the Gaumont in town. I would imagine unlikely scenarios where she was in danger and alone and I would rescue her (her film roles did tend to reinforce this idea - she was forever being captured by Indian Braves or mourning her lost soldier). But, when she did hit upon hard times - bad reviews and worse publicity - I, along with the rest of her public, deserted her.

I've seen some of her films recently - put on as afternoon filler on the higher numbered channels - and I am reminded of how luminously beautiful she was. She is long dead now but I am a little in love with her again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.