Smilesforcamera

By Smilesforcamera

Where to go?

"I'm happy be",said the man in the tree
Just pass me,and don't look around.
I was once without hope, hanging from a rope,and lifeless,with feet off the ground.
I sit on my tree branch,through night and through day,
And think of the things,all taken away.

"Oh dear wife,Lucy",knelt crying beneath.
I wish I could hold you,and help with your grief.
But she then turned away,my dearest in black.
I begged you'd return,but you never came back.
Growing sorrow,despair and no eyes for tears,
I sat on my branch,as months turned to years.

Then mid afternoon on a cool autumn day,
A young girl called Molly came forward to play,
To dance in the leaves,and swing in the tyre..
Sitting inside,as momentum got higher
She lifted her head,and looked to the sky,
As her eye met mine,she started to cry
Then she stopped,and drew closer,and I started to fear
But she held out her hand,as she got ever near.
Then,we talked,and we laughed and we danced through the day
For a time,til I knew that she must turn away

"Go back and play with your sisters and brothers
You have a gift,that one day,will help others
So please leave me here,with no leaves unturned
Not gifted with choices,and all bridges burned.."
We hugged and she cried,and with a last wave goodbye,
Left me here on my branch,whilst I stared at the sky

I'm happy be,I'm the man in the tree
Lonely,and scared for eternity
Through Summers and Winters,through day and through night
I sit on my tree branch,and pray for my light....
Someday..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.