Canadian Snowbirds - Fleet Week In San Francisco

I was in San Francisco today - just in time to catch some of the air show that was part of the city’s annual ‘Fleet Week’. Actually, I knew about it but then forgot about it, so I stumbled on it by accident. I was having a pleasant picnic in the community gardens that are part of Fort Mason. All of a sudden there was a fly-by by what I found out later was a P-8 Poseidon aircraft. Jumping out of the aircraft were the Navy Seal Leap Frogs, diving in formation. Then some acrobatics by the Air Force F16 Team and Team Oracle. I eventually made my way down to the waterfront and on the way witnessed the wonderful display by the Canadian Snowbirds. My humble iPhone didn’t capture them very well, and I wasn’t quick enough for some of the best views right above my head - it all happened so fast!

I’m afraid I didn’t stick around to watch the Blue Angels, the highlight of today’s show (which was actually a ‘practice run’ for tomorrow!). I had another errand to run before heading back to the airport this afternoon. But I was very happy to see what I did! And surprised to find out my own airline was the sponsor. Who knew??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.