Family Connections

Dinner at my Dad's  Lower Largo beckoned this evening so decided to drive done via Dundee and took the opportunity to visit The Law (something I haven't done for over 25 years !) passing my Dad's childhood home en route. Great views over to Fife and beyond including Wormit where my Dad moved as a teenager. 

My 5th great grandfather on my father's side  had made his way from East Lothian and his children moved across the Tay to Dundee in early 1800s - the view of the city would have been very different in those days. 

We also visited the Western Cemetery where my 2nd great grandfather Robert the Dockgate man is buried  (although there is no headstone) and the Balgay Cemetry where amongst others my mother's mother's father is buried - his grave marked by a stone from workmates & neighbours but no family headstone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.