Pink!

Lazy Sunday, but I forced myself to go out for a walk during which I blipped these flowers. Goodness knows what they are - I haven't a clue.

One of the things I did today was watch Strictly on iPlayer, having missed it last night, so that I was up-to-date for the results show tonight. The right person was voted off.

During the afternoon I got a phonecall from the niece of an elderly chap I met when we were both on a tour of South Africa in 2004, to say that he had recently died. He was 80 back then, a real character, and we hit it off even though he was old enough to be my father. After that holiday we met up a few times when he came up to Scotland on a coach trip, which he liked to do every year, and we spoke on the phone from time to time. He was a widower with no children of his own, but he was very close to his four nieces, especially 'Niece No 1', as he used to call her. It was she who phoned today to say that he had often spoken about me, so I was touched and appreciated the call.

RIP 'Uncle' Ted

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.