MonoMonday: Still Life

I was very excited when JDO suggested still life à la Don McCullin. 
He is one of my favourite photographers. I knew he had taken up landscapes after the horrors of war photography but didn't know he was now into still life.

I wish I had had more time to spend on this. A website I glanced at for inspiration said "take all day over it, if you need" but not having a "still life" myself that's not possible.

So I thought of a few random items one tends to see in the classical still life and lined them up along the mantle piece:

A Venetian glass goblet, one of a lovely set we bought in Venice in 1981 and I have used them - once. Just too nice for everyday.
Ceramic flowers also from Italy
Had to have some grapes (artifical ones) in a bowl given by a grateful client
A rooster given to us when visiting Slovenia. You fill it up with wine and pour it straight down!

I think we should have more still life challenges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.