Return to the North

By Viking

Not Wainui Falls!

Our target today was Wainui Falls, which is only a short drive from Pohara, heading towards Totaranui. The Falls are a relatively short 2km walk from the car park and I have done the walk before - or so I thought!
The last time I went (a couple of years ago) it was a pretty straightforward walk through a bit of farmland and then up into some bush climbing by the river Wainui. Alas the floods of 18 months ago has caused some serious damage there. the farmland now resembles beach because so much sand washed onto it and a warnign sign at the gate suggests Wainui Falls now need 'sturdy shoes and a sense of adventure'!!!

We walked back to the car to get the walking poles (just in case) and off we set. The walk was indeed interesting and adventurous. It had washed out in various places and now involved some scrambling up banks, down rocks etc. Actually really enjoyed it - my new found confidence at being 20kg lighter meant I fair sprinted and bounded over the obstacles.
Alas there was one final obstacle between me and the Falls. I thought that the loss would have made me braver, but I was wrong. My brain hasn't lost the 20kg and there was no way my brain was letting me cross the swingbridge that would take us the final 200m to the falls.

So I turned around and came back, scrambled back down the rocks to the banks of the river and took some river shots. A poor second for sure but quite like them anyway

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.