Acorn Antics

I got a really nice orb weaver spider for #Arachtober this morning when the weather was quite good. I left for a walk at Lodge Farm after lunch but before I got there it started raining so I diverted to Longlands Hide. Nothing much of interest until I spotted a jay flying past with an acorn in its beak. Then I saw it again - and again. A man came into the hide and we had a nice conversation but it distracted me from the jay antics. Turns out that it wasn't one jay but a whole family, systematically harvesting acorns from an oak tree by the farm drive and taking them to  their cache in a copse. Each bird carries one acorn in its bill and up to nine in its gullet. They spend up to ten hours a day on the task. Shame I wasn't a bit closer to the action.

Today's poem is Busy with Many Jobs by Tadeusz Rozewicz. https://konicki.com/blog2/2009/07/08/july-8-busy-with-many-jobs-by-tadeusz-rozewicz/

I'll rewrite the final verse and replace 'dying' with 'living'. Maybe that's what TR means?      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.