Tiny Tuesday - Sycamore Helicopter

I always been fascinated by these sycamore seedlings and collected up quite a few from our lawn for this composition. I remember in my early days of photography I desperately wanted to capture their flight path as they whirred down to the ground and I wasted the whole of a film using flash and throwing them up into the air against a dark backdrop and trying to capture them as they fell but failing miserably. I guess with 4K video it would not be too hard to do nowadays, maybe that's a project for the future.

In any case I was going for a surreal image which held the details of the seed wings but appeared to be in motion. In the end I did this by using motion blur on a copied background and then erasing all of the to pristine image apart from the seed heads. I'm not sure does make them look as though they are in motion but it does make them look kinda weird

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.