The camouflage moths continue....

Sorry to bring you yet another moth, but this time of year on a dull day with daylight failing fast blip opportunities are few and far between :-( 
I feel so sad, the prospect of another 'Blipwinter' fills me with dread I have to say, I think this one, my 5th will be a real creative challenge.
This beauty (which I have blipped before) is the Large Ranunculus Polymixis flavicincta, a very variable species with the brightest specimens occurring in the south east. It is a southern species, and flies mainly in September and October and is a regular visitor to light.
Like yesterday's blip it has great camouflage, and sitting on a tree trunk you would be hard pushed to see it.
It is a species I find difficult to photograph, as it always seems to just look a mess! I am quite pleased with this shot though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.