Lost in Thought

By steveng

Collective Noun

Perhaps there is, or if not, there should be, a collective noun for flash sync devices .... 

Next week I am co-presenting on portrait photography at the camera club. I'm not claiming to actually be a portrait photographer ... that would be my co-presenter Katrina seen in this previous blip encouraging the choir members to stand up straight and maximise their assets :-)

She is going to handle the posing and photographer/subject relationship,  I am sticking to getting the camera to trigger the lights and sorting out the exposure.  I have been trying, without much success, to get to a way of triggering which is not specific to a camera make and avoids trailing cables.  The old Bowens triggers (top right) are quite simple and are not tied to a particular make of camera, but I only have two and it is not a good idea to trigger two lights with one receiver. 

The others are specific to Canon and would either need custom settings, or different connectors .... or I could try to buy some extra Bowens trigger at £50 on eBay.

The presentation is a have a go session, rather than talk & chalk so, to keep it simple & reliable, I think it is going to be cables! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.