My bunny Rosie

This is Rosie, my Himalayan pet rabbit. On one of my visits in August 2009 to the local nature reserve I spotted her in one of the fields when dusk was slowly setting in. She hopped towards me and let me pick her up very easily. Fortunately I had two bags attached to my bicycle and I was able to slip her into one of them. Not knowing whether she had escaped from one of the nearby houses or whether she had been dumped at the reserve by her owners, I took her home with me and put up posters the next day so she could be claimed if she had indeed escaped from somewhere.

Two months later no one had come forward yet and I had become rather attached to this lovely creature so I decided to keep her. My mother wasn't too keen on having Rosie living with us as first, but a little over 3 years later Rosie has been able to win her over and she now feeds Rosie her greens whenever I'm not at home.

Rosie constantly lives downstairs where she has the run of a large garage with two big windows that let in a lot of light. The garage doesn't get used for a car as we don't have one. There are cardboard boxes where she can hide behind and run over. I also cut holes in another box so she can hide in it.

Because I kept reading how a female rabbit runs a relative high risk of developing uterine cancer if she's not bred or spayed, which reduces the length of her life considerably, I decided after long and hard deliberation to go ahead with the operation. Tomorrow morning I'm taking Rosie to the vet who will perform the surgery later in the day. She will have to stay there overnight so her recovery from the anaesthetic can be closely monitored. This will be the first time that Rosie and I will be apart since we found each other at the reserve.

The Heron was visiting the small pond at the park again this afternoon but he stayed to the side of the pond where several cars are parked and I couldn't get a clear shot of him without at least one or two of the cars in it as well. I'm not sure I would have used a photo of the Heron for today's blip if I had been able to get at good one tough because I had already more or less decided to make Rosie the subject of today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.