Irene

This morning I had a jaunt up to Dunning in Perthshire for one of Rhona's magical massages and it made sense to go and visit my dear old friend Irene while I was in the area.

I first introduced her to my blipmates here five years ago, when she was still living in her own home near her youngest son in Crieff, but over the next couple of years it was obvious that she was suffering from Alzheimer's and I was discouraged, by her daughter-in-law, from visiting Irene because it confused and upset her when she couldn't remember people.

However, I heard through the grapevine that she had moved into a care home and when I phoned to find out how she was doing, the member of staff I spoke to said she would love a visit.

I'm so glad I went, for my sake rather than Irene's, because although she didn't have a clue who I was, we talked about 'the old days' - schools we'd taught in together, her family, weddings we'd been to, etc - and I could see that she was still a cheery soul despite her illness.

I chose this blip because I think it portrays the confusion that dreadful disease causes at times, but please look at the extra too, which is more like the Irene I've known for more than 40 years.


PS I love the cat curled up on her bed! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.