Skills Provider

Excellent news today - but very difficult to convey with a couch blip!

I've been approved to become a Mountain Training provider of their official Hill & Mountain Skills Courses. Admittedly these are low level awards - but its the start of a long and famously difficult journey to become a recognised provider of the higher awards. The application process is stringent - I'm one of only a handful of new providers this year - and it is subject to conditions. In fact I thought I was going to fall at the first - to attend a two day Train the Trainer event in November; but I've been given a dispensation to defer the practical day on the hill until 2018, woohoo.

So now I need to provide 3 courses in the 2018 calendar year and be audited on at least one - I also need to work on some Hill & Moorland Leader Award courses so that I can apply for that next - as I suspected my experience on Mountain Leader courses is deemed to be at too high a level to be relevant, a shame as no-one runs the Hill & Moorland Leader courses here....due to all the mountains!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.