A Czech Welcome and Wedding Wishes

Today I walked in a different direction, South further in to the district of Nove Mesto (New Town). I passed the New Town Hall, which is something of a contradiction as it was originally built in the 14th century and was the site of the first Defenestration of Prague. It has a fairytale 15th century tower. It was rush hour so I diverted through a pretty park, Karlovo Namesti, which had an ancient tree. I'll have to ask Tomas and Marketa to translate its history for me.

On the corner of Resslova I blipped the locally nicknamed ‘Fred and Ginger’ building, more properly titled the Tancini Dum or dancing building.

Passing Slovansky Ostrov island in the river, I paused to photograph the ancient water tower, apparently built in the Bauhaus style, when a sudden gust of wind blew away my postcards! Apologies to NannaK and trevorearthy who may not receive their entire set! I decided to go a bit easier today and so paused in a park alongside of the river to enjoy a quieter view.

By some strange quirk of navigation I arrived in St Nicholas Square which I recognised from yesterday, and decided I was ready for a coffee stop. I had a deliciously light tub of waffle sticks, drizzled in chocolate (good job I'm walking everywhere!) with my cappuccino in Amorina on the corner of the busy square. Seated in the window I could enjoy people watching: folks with selfie sticks; strident tour guides trailing footsore and bored caterpillars; youngsters absorbed in their mobile phones ignoring the grandeur around them.

I neglected to mention yesterday that I came across a whole shop devoted to fridge magnets with every surface covered. I managed to resist temptation!

My next thought was to purchase a ticket for St Vitus’ Cathedral but, once through security and in the Castle grounds, the size of the queue for admission decided me against it. I took a breather on a seat outside and heard American voices next to me. I had seen a postcard in the gift shop for Golden Lane, a quaint row of brightly painted cottages, and asked the couple if they might check its location in their obviously superior guide book. The next bit is for NannaK - would you believe it was Rick Steve’s guide which prompted conversation about your visit with H and your Scottish tour. The husband had traced his roots to Yorkshire so it was an enjoyable interlude.

Sadly there was also a long queue for the Golden Lane so I decided against joining it and meandered down the hill to the Charles Bridge and then tried in vain to find the John Lennon mural in Kampala Park, mentioned in my guide book. I blipped several of the small shops selling all manner of crafts. They had ancient metal doors drawn back to reveal their treasures.

By now I was feeling weary and so took an alternative route back to my hotel via David’s Tower and a fabulously ornate synagogue on a side street. Retrieving my bag from the hotel I walked across the park to the central rail station and I'm now safely on the train for a ninety minute journey to Zabreh where I will be met by Tomas or Marketa or both!

Update: and here I am enjoying Czech hospitality in the beautiful timber home of Marketa's parents, Sarka and Josef. from left to right you can see Sarka and Josef, Marketa and Tomáš and Andra (Marketa's brother) and his partner Clarka (I'm sure to have those spellings wrong). Tomáš opened a bottle of 24 year old Lochnagar whisky which he bought 12 years ago when on holiday with us in Braemar, so it was very appropriate to open it today! And tomorrow the wedding preparations begin in earnest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.