The Great Roberto

By gr8roberto

Rocky the Wonder Horse

We had a family trip on the train to Maryport Aquarium today. Maryport is one of these strange and 'wonderful' places (I hesitantly use the word 'wonderful'), that has stood still in time and I feel transported back into my seventies childhood. Things such as 'Rocky' costing 20p rather than a pound were probably doing the rounds when I was a young boy and fill me with such an air of nostalgia as summer holiday programs such as 'Champion the Wonder Horse'.

Champion the Wonder Horse,
Champion the Wonder Horse.
Like a streak of lightnin' flashin' cross the sky,
Like the swiftest arrow whizzin' from a bow,
Like a mighty cannonball he seems to fly,
You'll hear about him ev'rywhere you go,
The time'll come when ev'ryone will know the name of
Champion the Wonder Horse,
Champion the Won-der Horrrssse....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.