Musical Box

Nature has a way of signaling change in life, whether time for a snake to shed its skin, time for mating or time for the great migration to fresh pastures. Something similar seems to happen in men when they have been driving the same car around for a while. Was it something in the air this morning that made me turn right on to the road where all the motor dealers congregate? Who knows?

All I do know is that I spent two or three hours acquainting myself with lots of new models and the ridiculous prices they're asking for them. Nothing may come of this, but I've also been looking at houses too recently. Change is in the air.

But the smell of vinyl and the crackle of needle in groove never changes, so I enjoyed rigging up some lights around my turntable and pulling out one of my favourite albums, then putting on this track, which has to be one of the sexiest ever.

A week or two back I had a brief dalliance with a record blipping site called Blipfm. It's OK, but unlike Blipfoto, it allows you to single out a whole load of tracks in one session. I think I'm going to go for one a day here for a while and this is the first.

I like the idea of a poetry group that's been suggested hereabouts (see forums) and might do something for national poetry day on Thursday. In the same vein as the track, I thought I might pick out a daily poem (or maybe not). Anyway while I think about it, here's John Betjeman reading some of Philip Larkin's poems plus the two in conversation. Wish I could find the rest of the programme. Sorry about unwittingly starting a bit of a debate yesterday but it was interesting to hear the views of fellow blippers.

The poetry chat is here. Had to rush the words a bit tonight as we went to the cinema to see Anna Karenina which was worth it for the photography alone - beautiful filming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.