Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

It's a wrap!

I am a shocker!

Prior to wrapping up this shawl and sending it as a gift to a dear friend and fellow knitter in Scotland, I couldn't resist enjoying the luxury of wearing it myself.

So, what will I make next? I have got that exciting feeling of crafter's limbo.

I have more lightweight wool to make another shawl, or I could embark on some gloves, or I could get on with some sewing. Oh! So many choices! Certainly, it seems that doing nothing is not an option.

The thing about handcrafts is that life is infused into the end product. This one has meetings, family films, moments of laughter with friends, stress relief from taking on too much at work, watching kids bounce on trampolines, remembering to look up at the right moment to cheer on the netball team, of sitting on the floor outside trombone lessons, of waiting in the car for geeks, of listening to birds in flower filled gardens, of watching skiiers & snowboarders hurtle down slushy slopes, of quietly knitting by torch light in a tent, of spotting whales leaping out of the waves, and of finding quiet sunny spots with a good coffee by my side.

Really, how blessed am I to live such a life? And to share some of it in a soft mauve scrap of a hug seems like a thanks giving gift of love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.