knit 1 girl 1

By knit1girl1

Yarn club

Today's been a good day.
Had coffee with my friend Gwen this morning and got her to have a look at my weaving samples. All 9 samples are done and I'm really happy with how they've turned out. Photos will follow soon. She said lovely things about them and it was good to see her. Popped by my friend Lorna's as well to get her expert view and the samples passed the test with her as well. Hope they pass the test next week at college.
This afternoon it was Yarn Club. I had thought of getting the kids to sew up Halloween things today, but as I hadn't quite done my homework, I thought today may be a good day to try needle felting with them instead. After several warnings on not to poke themselves with the needle felt needles (barbed very pointy needles), they dived straight in and came up with this array of great felted fun. There's a couple of pumpkins, an owl, a cat, a mouse, a witches hat, a dog, a bouncy ball, and pengward (what happens when you cross a penguin with Jedward). I'm so proud of them as I just showed them the basics and they came up with all of this through their own imagination. What's also great is their enthusiasm and their desire to learn new things. They all bounded out happily at the end of the session clutching their newly made bundles of felt and I've promised we'll do some more next week.
Having a relaxing evening and even thinking of doing some knitting as haven't picked up the needles for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.