stuartjross

By stuartjross

The North Face

An office day started by declining Mhairi's invitation to a morning stretch of the legs with the dogs. My head was already in gear with what I needed to get done and fear of "re-engagement" on my return from a walk was a sufficient tether to retain me.

I got the bulk of stuff cleared by early PM and I had a wee message to run and deliver in Fort William. Bruce and Caley were loaded in the car and the plan was to get some fresh air on the way back.

Where?

We have had previous low level family walks from the North Face Car Park at Torlandy and there is rarely collective enthusiasm to do anything other than a flattish circuit here. I thought we will go up the hill a bit tonight. The route is a well engineered dry bound track which gains height quickly but with remarkably little effort. We climbed about a thousand feet.

There were a few showers and big black clouds hung about everywhere but the colours on the hill side are lovely just now and we actually got a wee splash of watery sunshine.

Anyway this is looking up at the north face of the Ben, The absolute summit is lost in mist and this closer shoulder is called Carn Dearg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.