around here somewhere

By thehammerton

Old & new

Living in Shrewsbury, a small town with 15 charity shops (and no university students), I've become thoroughly ingrained with the habit of having a browse round them on a regular basis and most of my clothes are found that way - so much so that on the odd occasion I do go into one of the "new" shops I'm generally astonished at how much one is expected to part with for a shirt or a pair of jeans these days.

I make an exception for footwear, partly because it is rare to find something appealing in the right size (my theory is that men tend to wear shoes they like until they are falling apart - I do) and partly because, well, second hand shoes aren't a particularly attractive prospect. Coming round to the point of this preliminary ramble, after four years and countless miles my old and much loved brown Doc Martens had reached the falling apart stage, and probably gone some way past it, and with the autumn weather it was finally time to get some new ones.

Taking this photo made me wonder if I'll still be posting a daily blip when it next comes round to time for a new pair, and what else might happen in between now and then...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.