Seelye

By Seelye

Arboretum

A friend and I drove out to the Boyce Thompson Arboretum today which is a lovely state park.  They were also having their plant sale and I got a fabulous Louis Hamilton Globe Mallow which is a wild flower.  Its good size and will go in my yard, I will so enjoy the bright orange flowers in the spring. We had a nice walk around and this was my favorite shot, kind of looks like we're going to the bad witches house in the woods!

Extra is of a 2 room house built around 1900 and a family of 5 owned it as a homestead.  I think they left in about about 1920 and then Mr. Thompson bought the property and started the Arboretum.  I'd like to become a member.  The Phoenix Botanical Garden of which I was a member for years is quite lovely but has gotten so chi-chi!  And the cost is ridiculous to get in for non-members.  I liked it better when it was a bit more rustic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.