Dominion 2049

A merry little surge of electricity piped by automatic alarm from the mood organ beside his bed awakened Rick Deckard.

We land at Terminal 3. I navigate the purple corridors and buses of "Flight Connections" to Terminal 5, and proceed to the BA lounge south. There's a waiting list for the showers, so I read the paper and eat a cheesy omelette roll.

The showers are excellent. There's a corridor of 20 replicated bathrooms, provisioned with large shower cubicles and fresh towels. A posse of cleaners attend to each one as it gets vacated.

Clean and somewhat refreshed, I embark on breakfast, round 2 - porridge and pastry. Thence to gate A3, a comfortable doze listening to In Our Time, and the airport bus to Maybury.

I drive to Morningside and hang out in a café until the Dominion disgorges my extended family - including cousins Hamish and Cameron. Blade Runner 2049 didn't do it for them - "long and slow moving" seems to be the verdict.

I take Angus back to his flat, Megan returns to Glasgow, Cameron to Leith, while Claire and Hamish go directly to Kirkurd.

We eat chilli, Claire heads into Peebles for a social, and I begin what I hope will be a marathon sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.