memento

By memento

Poster tree for Fall

This one is it, I think. It towers over the neighbor's house and more than half of the leaves have already fallen. This coming weekend will be the great neighborhood First Raking and by then, our yard, which doesn't have its own towering tree, will have a good coating of crunchy neighbor leaves. I'm thinking about having a clear plexiglass dome installed over our house and yard till about November to keep those leaves out. But that would probably seem like a snotty thing to do. Why, after ten years would I suddenly NOT cheerfully rejoice in raking up all those leaves that aren't mine?

Oh no, could it be that I'm turning into Edith, the old lady across the street who died in her sleep one night and whenever the neighbors bring up her name, they all tell the stories (again) about the nasty things Edith did and said to them? I do hope not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.