Jado

By Jado

Camera settings

Chapter 3 of the manual for my new EOS5D mk4 is called "Setting the AF and Drive Modes" - it is 65 pages long!  Most of it is straightforward, but after some pretty poor results photographing birds in flight, I decided I should read it all - very carefully.  But reading it didn't help a lot since it is not at all clear what some of the settings actually do in practice.

So I am back to tracking aircraft as they pass by on route to Manchester Airport, just as I had to do with my EOS80D some time ago.  There have also been a few obliging Magpies around so that I can see how some of the setting behave for a subject less predictable than an aircraft ;-)

In some respects I prefer the simplicity of my EOS6D, but the 5D mk4 is very, very nice.  The 6D will be sold in due course, but there are a lot on the secondhand market at the moment due to the recent launch of the 6D mk2, so I'll wait and see if I can get a bit more for it in a few months.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.