Lucy in the Surf with Diamonds...?

It was such a lovely morning here - warm (relatively, for the northeast) and sunny - that we thought summer had arrived at last, about 4 months late. So on a whim we took the Metro to Whitley Bay and walked through Cullercoats to Tynemouth to catch a Metro home. (Naturally, an ulterior motive for suggesting this little trip to my Editor was to get today's blip and I ended up with rather a large choice.) There were lots of folk paddle surfing - I liked this photo best of the ones I took.

(I've no idea whether or not she's called Lucy of course, but I needed a title of some sort.)

Once we got to Tynemouth it was time for a coffee - so we sat outside for it (in October - in Tynemouth, in shirtsleeves!! At least I was in shirtsleeves; my Editor, being a non-Geordie from the "deep south" of Cheshire, was still wearing her fleece).

When we got home the sky clouded over, but it stayed dry so I was able, at last, to get the autumn feed spread onto the lawn and to do some other gardening jobs. Then it was time for roast lamb followed by apple & blackberry crumble (using home-grown fruit). Altogether a good day.

(Note: The photo looks best large, if you've time.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.