Reflections of a mother

There is a shocking story at the moment in the UK in Wales and it has really upset me. I wrote this last night being unable to sleep:


If you had told me
what you were going to do,
I would have never believed in you,
never given you a bed to sleep in,
never fed you a single meal.
If you had cast your filthy mind
into the mire that you would sink to
and bothered to stop me the bother,
I may have been able
to cleanse myself
of your self professed
filthy state;
and yet you didn't,
you didn't at all.
And now here I sit,
my head cradled by my own,
soiled hands,
with my past there behind me
like a shocking car crash
all over the ruins of my life,
with your stupid grinning face
that I will forever be unable
to wash away from my minds eye.
Oh dirty hands,
stained forever
by the stupidity
of a mother
who bothered to care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.