A Becalmed Orkney Morning

We awoke to not only the strains of ‘Kirkwall Bay’, presaging Radio Orkney, but to a panel-beaten steel grey flat calm day; not one breath of wind.  The Current Mrs Creel got ready to go with her sister and nieces across to the Hoy Kirkyard as I put out the sheets and got ready for a coastal walk.

And what a walk. The flat calm conditions allowed me to pick out easily a dunnock, robins, meadow pipits, and a sole redshank.  At the beach I stood and listened to the click clacking of the pebbles - they were being turned over (true to their names) by the Turnstones.  I had the path to myself and stopped and sat on the bench.  The contact call of the Great Northern Diver echoed around the Bu Bay.  A stunning moment that no camera or words can capture.  This is a morning to savour - as you would a Talisker.

The Hoy Head gently glided over the Flow, I listened to the skippers of the dive boats, about two miles away, shouting to each other.  Geese flying over, a sole fulmar gliding by.

A truly magical morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.