MonoMonday Rain

The challenge for today was movement, given that the today is also the 30th anniversary of the storm that hit West Sussex, I have endeavoured not too successfully to combine the two.  I could not quite capture the rain hitting this water feature and my earlier attempts at shots of the pool cascading over the side also failed.   So why have I bothered?  Because we were living in West Sussex at the time.   We were woken by the sound of the storm in the early hours and quickly realised that we had no electricity.  Fortunately we had gas, so I could boil water in a saucepan.  My daughter was only 19 months at the time.  Hubby set off for work and was soon home again.  All roads out of Lindfield were blocked with fallen trees.  With no heating, there was only one course of action, the Pub,  everyone else also had the same idea and all three village pubs were full, we choose our regular venue and the manager allowed us to take my daughter in with us and found us a corner,  we were with our good friend, who worked with hubby, and his wife. So we enjoyed a good lunch and a couple of beers. I remember that the atmosphere was good.  We were fortunate that our power was back on the next day, but the damage caused around the village was extensive.   Sadly other areas suffered much more damage and 19 people lost there lives.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.