TOMORROW'S WORLD

Inspired by Keith Knight's Box in the Corner challenge for October, based on classic TV programmes. I shall dip in and out of the challenge, but when I saw today's subject I remembered this old (1971) book which had belonged to C. When I found it and actually opened it - what excitement! - it's signed by Raymond Baxter and James Burke, the original presenters!!

Exciting glimpses into the future from 1971 include a small experimental fish farm in Scotland (possibly a multi-million pound industry in the future, it cautiously predicts); an enormous room full of bulky equipment for composing electronic music (the process starts with recording on punched paper tape); and a hefty backpack for calculating your location (no mention of satellites - technology based on radar signals from a boot antenna, backpack computer calculating stride length and compass bearings from a known starting point - developed for use in the Vietnam War which was still going on at the time).

P.S. The book cost £2.50. I started 1971 living on £3 a week from my Dad while at university, then got my first proper job at £11 a week that September, so it was pretty damn expensive!

Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.