Refreshments

A few weeks ago I blipped the envelope for a bowel screening test. I did so well that they invited me to do it again and having got through the first round today I moved up to the big league and had a colonoscopy. On Sunday I was on a very restricted diet and yesterday I was only allowed to consume clear fluids - but not wine or gin; I checked. I also had a couple of litres of industrial strength laxative so by the time I got to the hospital this AM I was rather hungry.

The procedure was carried out by a direct descendent of Dr Barnado (of the children's home fame) and as I had a mild sedative it wasn't overly painful. As there wasn't much choice I watched on the big screen as my internals were inspected.

The image is the sandwich and cup of tea in the recovery room - they must have misunderstood my request for a steak and a bottle of champagne. Back home now and still a bit drowsy but I can eat so that's a result. No booze allowed tonight but a nice cup of Earl Grey has really hit the spot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.