Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Turbulent Tweed

I had to head for Kelso this morning as I'd arranged to carry out some training there. Dire warnings of severe weather and gales sweeping the country as I progressed over Soutra meant that I had to stop for a moment there to check an alternative route as the road I'd intended taking south of the Tweed had been closed due to flooding.

However, the weather brightened shortly after I'd left the river-surface conditions of Soutra behind: it honestly felt like driving through a fast-flowing stream at times.

At Kelso I could see quite large branches being pushed down-river by the current. Wild indeed.

On the way back, I noticed at Pathhead the signposts to Crichton Castle. When our arriving guests had mentioned a possible trip there on Sunday, I had to confess that I couldn't quite think where it was.

With the benefit of back-blipping, I can report that I met them in the Royal Mile later in the week after they'd visited and they said it was well worth the excursion, as it is quite remote and you can really imagine living there back in the 16th century. Now that I check the Historic Scotland site, it's closed for the winter - so it will have to go down in the 'things to do' list for a later date.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.