Gas Giants For Children.

I love these educational experiments that simulate the atmospheres of planets using a perspex dome with some liquid acrylic sandwiched inside that creates patterns of increasing complexity when spun around with increasing speed.

Ever since reading Chaos: Making a New Science by James Gleick in the late Eighties, I've been fascinated with the theory behind chaos mathematics and their application in the real world, especially in the understanding of the atmospheres of giant planets, especially Jupiter and Saturn.

I could happily spend hours playing with them, creating my own bespoke Jovian worlds; the first time I saw one was at an exhibition of science and art at Canary Wharf in 1991, and this example here can be found at the National Museum of Scotland in Edinburgh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.