Dinner In Apeldoorn

Serious and very rapid countdown starting today.

Finished the Ancient Rome MOOC -- 5 weeks in 3.5 days.  Even I can hardly believe it, but I enjoyed it so much!  I haven't seen Rome in 31 years so I think a second visit is overdue.

Aside from that, cleared up in the kitchen, put away the laundry that had dried, and then took an almost hour-long shower, after which hubby trimmed my hair by about 7 cm.  He had his Tuesday bridge evening, but I left earlier for Apeldoorn for my annual dinner with police academy ex-colleague P.  It was good to see her again!  We live so far from each other so I take the trouble to drive north and sometimes she takes time off to go south and see me.  We had our traditional dinner at Navet, the restaurant that is right beside the police academy, and I used to eat there quite regularly, especially whenever I had to teach till 22.00.  We had a good catch-up on several things.  Of course I asked about some mutual colleagues but she really works in another office within the compound and hardly gets to see who I used to work with.  Nevertheless, regards to everyone I knew.  We talked about the latest issue I resolved, about her mother and her son and her own issues, and so many other things.  P has become a dear friend and I like the mutual respect and affection.

The shot was taken on the Arnhemseweg on the way to Apeldoorn proper.  The place is situated on the edge of the great Veluwe woods, a lovely place all seasons in the year.  Autumn is lovely there and that is what I miss most about the area.  That and the sounds of stags in the mood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.