Foto Istanbul 2017

This afternoon, neighbour-friend-colleague Erin and I took a group of our art students to see part of the current FotoIstanbul 2017 exhibition, housed in the old abandoned Jewish orphanage in Ortakoy.  I have not been before and could hardly look at the photo exhibits for being fascinated by the building that housed them. Now of course I need to go back before the exhibition closes on 22nd October, to focus more on the artworks.  Meanwhile, I did fall in love with the images of Turkish artist Ali Alışır as I stumbled about in awe.  Worth a look here

Took quite a few photos - all with my phone because of course, as is to be expected in the daily joke that is life, my camera battery died upon entry in to the building, and the spare that I had tucked away was also flat. Of course. Another reason to go back.  In the end, my pic for the day has to be one of the shots of the building. So many stories in the brickwork.

Oh, must also mention the weather. Brilliant warm sunshine - more like early September than mid October - not that I'm complaining.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.