A M A Z I N G

This simulation of the large-scale structure of the universe reveals the cosmic web of galaxies and the vast, empty regions known as voids. Image credit: Nico Hamaus, Universitäts-Sternwarte München, courtesy of The Ohio State University.

To put this picture into perspective, if the Sun were a grain of sand, there are more stars in the universe than there are grains of sand on out entire planet, so a single pixel in this picture probably depicts our galaxy, the Milky Way, never mind our sun or planet earth.

I got this little factoid watching a film about Everything and Nothing. It's in two parts and this was about Everything. The second part started off by posing the question 'what is nothing?'. Think about it, it's not that ray a concept to explain in absolute terms.

I love science, I think I may love philosophy as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.